Call for Participation

Find a PDF version of the Call for Participation here. Please distribute widely!

First Call for Papers

In PDF Format (1.3 MB)


QEST 2004

1st International Conference on Quantitative Evaluation of SysTems

(formerly TOOLS + PNPM + PAPM/ProbMIV)

University of Twente, Enschede, the Netherlands September 27 -- 30, 2004

QEST is a new series of annual conferences that recently emerged as the fusion of the following individual conferences (that have already been co-located a couple of times in the past):
  • the International Conference on Modeling Techniques and Tools for Computer Performance Evaluation (TOOLS),
  • the International Workshop on Petri Nets and Performance Models (PNPM)
  • the Joint International Workshop on Process Algebras and Performance Modeling and Probabilistic Methods In Verification (PAPM-ProbMIV).



Boudewijn Haverkort (The Netherlands)


Giuliana Franceschinis (Italy)
Joost-Pieter Katoen (The Netherlands)
Murray Woodside (Canada)


Andrew Miner (USA)


Marco Bernardo (Italy)


Gianfranco Balbo (Italy) Ravi K. Iyer (USA)
Andrea Bobbio (Italy) Joost-Pieter Katoen (The Netherlands)
Steve Bruell (USA) Peter Kemper (Germany)
Peter Buchholz (Germany) Marta Kwiatkowska (UK)
Gianfranco Ciardo (USA) Raymond Marie (France)
Susanna Donatelli (Italy) Prakash Panangaden (Canada)
Giuliana Franceschinis (Italy) Ramon Puigjaner (Spain)
Roberto Gorrieri (Italy) William H. Sanders (USA)
Günter Haring (Austria) William Stewart (USA)
Peter Harrison (UK) Kishor Trivedi (USA)
Boudewijn Haverkort (The Netherlands) C. Murray Woodside (Canada)
Jane Hillston (UK)


  • Abstract submission: April 1, 2004 (20:00 GMT) (extended deadline)
  • Paper submission: April 10, 2004 (20:00 GMT) (extended deadline)
  • Tools & tutorial submission: April 30, 2004
  • Author notification: May 24, 2004
  • Camera ready version: June 21, 2004


The 1st International Conference on Quantitative Evaluation of Systems combines three events that have discovered an increasing convergence in their interests and in their communities of researchers.

The objective of the conference is to be the major forum for contributions on all kinds of evaluation and verification of computer and communication systems, through measurements and stochastic models, possibly incorporating non-deterministic behaviour.

Topics of interest cover the areas of modelling formalisms and methodologies, measurements, analytical and numerical evaluation, simulation and verification, and theory of probabilistic systems. Moreover, tools for supporting the practical application of research results in all the above areas, and case studies showing the practical applicability of such results are also explicitly addressed. Properties of interest include, but are not limited to performance, dependability (e.g., reliability, availability), safety, security, and survivability.

In a more detailed fashion, we encourage submissions on all of the following topics:

  • probabilistic decision making and planning,
  • verification of stochastic and probabilistic systems,
  • formal specification techniques,
  • stochastic and timed Petri nets,
  • stochastic process algebras,
  • probabilistic extensions of UML,
  • schedulability analysis,
  • stochastic and timed automata,
  • concurrency theory for probabilistic systems,
  • performance, dependability and robustness testing,
  • analysis of randomized algorithms,
  • numerical and analytical evaluation techniques,
  • efficient simulation techniques,
  • approximate schemes, optimization techniques,
  • model-checking algorithms,
  • non-Markovian system models and algorithms,
  • queueing networks,
  • hybrid and hierarchical modelling and evaluation techniques,
  • performance, dependability, and security evaluation,
  • measurement and benchmarking,
  • software tools in suppport of all these quantitative evaluation techniques,
  • practical experience reports and case studies showing the role of quantitative evaluation in the design of systems and applications including computer architecture, distributed and fault-tolerant systems, wireline and wireless communication, embedded systems, web-based systems safety-critical systems.


Submitted papers shall be written in English and should not exceed 20 double-spaced pages. Please follow the instructions for electronic submission given on the Conference Homepage. The final version will be limited to 10 pages in the IEEE double column format. Papers must be unpublished and must not be submitted for publication elsewhere. The proceedings will be published by IEEE.

All papers will be thoroughly reviewed by at least 3 referees on the basis of their originality and their scientific and practical contribution to the state of the art.


Special sessions will be arranged to present and demonstrate tools relevant to any topic covered by the conference. Please send a tool description (up to four pages) to the tools chair Andrew Miner. Accepted tool descriptions will appear in the proceedings of QEST 2004. The final version will be limited therefore to two pages in the usual IEEE 2-column style. Have a look at the submission page for more information about this style.


There will be one day of tutorials at the beginning of the conference. Tutorial proposals should be sent to the Tutorials Chair, Marco Bernardo.


Christel Baier (Germany) Jane Hillston (UK)
Gianfranco Balbo (Italy) Peter Kemper (Germany)
Bernard Berthomieu (France) Pieter Kritzinger (South Africa)
Jonathan Billington (Australia) Marta Kwiatkowska (UK)
Peter Buchholz (Germany) Kim G. Larsen (Denmark)
Mariacarla Calzarossa (Italy)Raymond Marie (France)
Javier Campos (Spain) Annabelle McIver (Australia)
Lucy Cherkasova (USA) Daniel Menasce (USA)
Lisa Wells(Denmark) Aad van Moorsel (Germany)
Gianfranco Ciardo (USA) Ramon Puigjaner (Spain)
Luca de Alfaro (USA) Gerardo Rubino (France)
Josée Desharnais (Canada) William H. Sanders (USA)
Tony Field (UK) Philippe Schnoebelen (France)
Reinhard German (Germany) Roberto Segala (Italy)
Robert L. Givan (USA) Evgenia Smirni (USA)
Roberto Gorrieri (Italy) Miklos Telek (Hungary)
Serge Haddad (France) Kishor Trivedi (USA)
Guenther Haring (Austria) Moshe Vardi (USA)
Peter Harrison (UK) Katinka Wolter (Germany)

Web Maintenance Person.