Call for papers in PDF format

Call for papers in ASCII format

Call for Papers

QEST 2006

3rd International Conference on Quantitative Evaluation of SysTems

University of California, Riverside, CA, USA

September 11-14, 2006


The International Conference on Quantitative Evaluation of SysTems (QEST) is the leading forum on evaluation and verification of computer systems and networks, through stochastic models and measurements, possibly incorporating non-deterministic behavior. Quantitative properties of interest include performance, reliability, availability, safety, security, survivability, correctness, timeliness, and efficiency. Topics of interest cover the areas of modelling formalisms and methodologies, measurements, analytical and numerical evaluation, simulation and verification, and theory of probabilistic systems, as well as case studies showing the role of quantitative evaluation in the design of systems including computer architectures, distributed and fault tolerant systems, communication systems, embedded systems, web-based systems, and safety-critical systems. Moreover, tools for supporting the practical application of research results in all the above areas are of special interest for QEST and therefore tool papers are sought. In short, QEST aims to create a sound methodological basis for assessing and designing trustworthy computing systems and networks.

Example topics of interest include: schedulability analysis; verification of stochastic and probabilistic systems; concurrency theory for probabilistic systems; analysis of randomized algorithms; model-checking algorithms; optimization techniques; probabilistic decision-making and planning; hybrid and hierarchical modelling and evaluation techniques; stochastic and timed automata; queueing networks; Markov chains; non-Markovian models and algorithms; numerical and analytical solution techniques; efficient simulation techniques; formal specification techniques; quantitative extensions of UML; measurement and benchmarking.


We invite submissions of original papers, in English, related to the topics of the conference and formatted in the IEEE double-column format. Electronic submission instructions may be found at Submitted papers should not exceed 10 pages. Additional material for the aid of the reviewers (e.g., proofs) can be presented in a clearly-marked appendix. Papers must be unpublished and must not be submitted for publication elsewhere. All papers will be thoroughly reviewed by at least 3 referees on the basis of originality and scientific and practical contributions to the state of the art. Accepted papers will appear in the Conference Proceedings, published by IEEE Computer Society Press, and must be presented at the conference by one of the authors. A best-paper award will be presented at the conference. Selected papers will appear in a special issue of a journal.


Sessions will be arranged to present and demonstrate tools relevant to any conference topic. Tool submissions (2 pages, IEEE double-column format) should be sent to the Tool Chair. Accepted tool descriptions will appear in the conference proceedings.


There will be one day of tutorials at the start of the conference. Tutorial proposals (up to 4 pages) should be sent to the Tutorial Chair.


  • Abstract submission: March 27, 2006 (Closed)
  • Paper submission: April 3, 2006
  • Tools submission: May 7, 2006
  • Tutorial submission: April 24, 2006
  • Author notification: May 22, 2006
  • Camera ready version: June 26, 2006


Gianfranco Ciardo (USA)


Pedro D'Argenio (Argentina)
Andrew Miner (USA)
Gerardo Rubino (France)


Enrico Vicario (Italy)


Peter Kemper (Germany)


Alma Riska (USA)


Gianfranco Balbo (Italy)
Pedro D'Argenio (Argentina)
Susanna Donatelli (Italy)
Boudewijn Haverkort (The Netherlands)
Jane Hillston (UK)
Joost-Pieter Katoen (Germany)
Marta Kwiatkowska (UK)
William H. Sanders (USA, chair)
Roberto Segala (Italy)
Evgenia Smirni (USA)
Manuel Silva (Spain)


Christel Baier (Germany)
Gianfranco Balbo (Italy)
Andrea Bondavalli (Italy)
Mario Bravetti (Italy)
Peter Buchholz (Germany)
Hector Cancela (Uruguay)
Juan Carrasco (Spain)
Giuliana Franceschinis (Italy)
Reinhard German (Germany)
Serge Haddad (France)
Mor Harchol-Balter (USA)
Boudewijn Haverkort (The Netherlands)
Holger Hermanns (Germany)
Jane Hillston (UK)
Alain Jean-Marie (France)
Joost-Pieter Katoen (Germany)
Peter Kemper (Germany)
William Knottenbelt (UK)
Gabriele Kotsis (Austria)
Marta Kwiatkowska (UK)
Kim G. Larsen (Denmark)
John C.S. Lui (Hong Kong)
Raymond Marie (France)
Patrice Moreaux (France)
Carroll Morgan (Australia)
Gethin Norman (UK)
Prakash Panangaden (Canada)
Alma Riska (USA)
William H. Sanders (USA)
Roberto Segala (Italy)
Evgenia Smirni (USA)
Scott Smolka (USA)
Edmundo de Souza e Silva (Brazil)
Marielle Stoelinga (The Netherlands)
Miklos Telek (Hungary)
Yann Thierry-Mieg (France)
Kishor Trivedi (USA)
Franck van Breugel (Canada)
Murray Woodside (Canada)

Web Maintenance Person.